The New Music I’m Listening To While I Fight The Bubonic Plague This Week, January 28 – February 3, 2023:

Ok, so fun fact about marmots (groundhogs, woodchucks); they are largely blamed for the spread of both The Black Plague and The Bubonic Plague. I’m not saying that after I christened a new mascot for my blog that I “rescued” a marmot, and we’ve been sharing intimate meals together. I didn’t. We haven’t. I don’t want to talk about NuMu.

The Face of Death

A busy week in New Music, despite being in bed for most of the midweek. And BandCamp Friday came out of nowhere! I’ve been able to find twelve titles to pass on to you. And not my cooties.

The week began at full stride, with a couple of interesting releases that came out on Saturday and Sunday. To start, The Church of Noisy Goat, the great Experimental Label from Brazil released a new EP by Serbian solo artist Lezet. Curds 18 is the latest in his Curds series of tracks that were not used in earlier projects. The five Electronic pieces feature skittish beats and plundering synth-bass, in an air of exploration to parts unknown.

Lezet – Curds 18

Sunday saw the release of a debut EP from a confident and strong new band. Gas Kunst are a trio from Northwich, England. Among the four tracks of this self-titled statement of intent, the band draws inspiration from 60’s Psychedelic Bubblegum, Post Punk and synthy New Wave to create a shining gem.

Gas Kunst – s/t

The Go! Team have released their follow-up to the 2020 album that was my introduction to the Brighton band. Get Up Sequences Part Two picks up from its predecessor with more high-energy danceable fun.

The Go! Team – Get Up Sequences Part Two

The Psychotic Monks are a quartet from Paris that have been releasing music since 2016. This week they’ve put out their third full-length, Pink Colour Surgery. Angular and concise, until it falls into madness. Yep, madness.

The Psychotic Monks – Pink Colour Surgery

Japan factors into my New Music findings this week, though I haven’t found much in the way of Japanese Hip-Hop that tickled my fancy as of late. What I have found, first-off, is a unique collective of musicians , creating fascinating and original New Sounds. GEZAN is a noted Psych Rock band that has received the endorsement of Japanese legends Acid Mother Temple. They’ve been around since 2010 and their most recent album is 「あのち」(Anochi). It’s billed with A Million Wish Collective, who I assume are a group of like-minded friends and lovers. Brilliant and beautiful chord progressions clash with screamy vocals and trombone, is one of my favourite moments. Tis merely a glimpse into the delicious weirdness.

GEZAN with A Million Wish Collective – 「あのち」(Anochi)

Also coming from Tokyo is a group of a very different sort to their neighbours. of Tropique are a Dance Jazz Band, led by the exciting clarinet of Teppei Kondo. Their debut album, Buster Goes West, is an eclectic mix of styles, tempos and templates that has me sipping daiquiris at My Imaginary Oceanside Nightclub.

of Tropique – Buster Goes West

Perhaps that was a little too “Jazzy” for your tastes, so we’ll just have to head south to Australia to see what Rock’s been cookin’. From Melbourne we find a nameless Musician who has released a new EP. Synthetic Soup is the five-track product of the very nerdilly-named Rhizome and the Flavinoids. Freak Out Post-Punk with Synth Effects and quirky melodies got Zappa rocking with David Byrne to dangerous consequences. Probably.

Rhizome and the Flavinoids – Synthetic Soup

My Rock-dar found a large deposit of the mineral in Dublin, Ireland. A five-piece with the unwieldy name M(h)aol has released a terrific album. Attachment Styles features creaky electric guitars and plain-spoken vocals to full effect.

M(h)aol – Attachment Styles

My BandCamp Wishlist paid off in buckets this BandCamp Friday, with most of the eleven titles sitting there making the grade. On Tuesday I spotlighted Young Fathers without even being aware that they are past winner of UK’s Mercury Prize (in 2018). Will Heavy Heavy win the 2023 New Music Jason Prize? Too soon to say, but I’m loving the energy, the production, and the whole Future Soul feel.

Young Fathers – Heavy Heavy

Gavsborg is from Kingston, Jamaica, but he is based in Berlin. He is a Producer, multi-instrumentalist and label head. His One Hour Service is the first in a new Cassette series featuring different Producers, with the boss leading the way. Gavsborg’s ear for odd rhythms and catchy glitch is yummy.

Gavsborg – One Hour Service

And we return now to London, because I forgot my driving gloves. Also, I forgot that trumpeter, composer and bandleader Nick Walters has released a beautiful new album. Padmãsana is seven lovely tracks featuring Walters’ trumpet and synth, and grand flute from Tenderlonious. Chill beats with a nod to The East.

Nick Walters – Padmãsana

Lest The United States of Hysteria thought I had enacted a boycott of their country, I did in fact find something of note for which to wave your flags. Representing Brooklyn, A.M. Frisson is a singer and multi-instrumentalist who records and performs as Coultrain. Active since 2008, he has just released the self-produced MUNDUS. Taking tips from Stevie Wonder, Coultrain looks within, with eccentric musical leaps. The lowkey banger THE UNKNWBLS is my jam for the moment, and the album is my Feature Pick for this week.

Coultrain – MUNDUS

Well, that was a journey. I’m a little winded, yet enervated by all this musical bounty. I’ll be over here doing bellyflops off the diving board into all the beauty.

I hope you are finding joy in your life. It’s too short to miss out.