Upcoming New Releases – Week Ending Friday, February 3, 2023:

Did you know that the Groundhog is also a Woodchuck? And they are both actually Marmots? I’m almost fifty, and I did not know these very basic facts,

The humble Groundhog graduates to Marmot, poses for Grad Photo.

Marmots are not known as great prognosticators for how many New Releases there will be this week, as much as they are for predicting the arrival of Spring. But I believe, now that I’ve been writing about New Music for one year now on WordPress, I’ve earned an official mascot. Meet Numu, The New Music Marmot!

Any drawing I would make would equal Animal Cruelty. I’m taking Reader input!

In terms of New Music due for arrival this week, we have an eclectic mix of new and old artists, with no huge stars taking all the limelight. Topping the bill is Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist John Frusciante with a pair of albums, and a big star from twenty years ago, Shania Twain.

Shania Twain – Giddy Up!

Some very interesting titles I’m curious to put my ears on this week are coming from The Brian Jonestown Massacre, The Go! Team, Blonde Revolver, Babytron, and 2024 U.S. Presidential Candidate Afroman.

Afroman – I Made It

My BandCamp Wishlist is flush with titles on deck before Friday. Among the ten on the bench is a new album being released via Ninja Tune Records. Young Fathers is a trio from Edinburgh and their fourth album, Heavy Heavy, is out on Friday.

Young Fathers – Rice

All in all, it looks to be a very fine Release Week indeed. Numu The New Music Marmot predicts that we will blessed with many weeks of abundant New Music. But what do they know? They’re just a stupid rodent I made up.

Happy Marmot Day!

1 Comment

Leave a Comment