The New Music I’m Listening To Trepidatiously This Week, December 30 – January 5, 2023/4:

Welcome to the Working Year! Now that the holidays are in our rear-views the Music World is lurching slowly back to full power.

I’m pleased to have found three New Releases to share with each and every one of your beautiful faces. Let’s go!


A microlabel from Toronto called TAALTONE ended the year by pressing their first 7”. I’m really enjoying the modern Music trend of repurposing old electronics in fascinating new ways. ELECTRIC TAAL BAND is a pair of vintage Radel Tabla samplers duetting with each other on Keela EP. Mysterious and bright, the three tracks engage the listener with sonic tickles throughout.

ELECTRIC TAAL BAND – Keela EP

On Tuesday’s Upcoming New Releases post I stated that I had just been introduced to the music of New York’s Pile. My silly stoner brain forgot that I recommended their album last February. All Fiction is still in rotation, but they’ve just released a five-song EP. Hot Air Balloon is filled with lush Pop arrangements and spacious, yearning vocals.

Pile – Hot Air Balloon EP

This week’s Feature Pick is the debut album from Asheville, North Carolina’s Wagging. The trio, fronted by Songwriter/Vocalist Alison Antaramian brings the lustre of 80’s College Rock with the modern influence of Singer/Songwriters like Soccer Mommy and Phoebe Bridgers. The harmonies are perfect and the hooks are tight on the eight tracks that make up My Own Private Rodeo.

Wagging – My Own Private Rodeo

I hope your days are nice and sunny. We’ve been through a stretch where we’ve seen nothing but cloud, and it really does something to your general disposition. Take care!

4 Comments

  1. Happy new year 🎂🎂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And you too Satyam!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great picks this week Jason. “sonic tickles” – I like that! Surprisingly, Pile is yet another band that’s new to me, and “Hot Air Balloon” is wonderfully sublime, punctuated with brief flourishes of intensity. Wagging’s “My Own Private Rodeo” makes for a very pleasing listen too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment