The New Music I’m Listening To While I Examine My Inner Biases This Week, January 21 – 27, 2023:

I cannot believe that we are already four weeks in to the New Year, and February is already upon us. It’s been a crazy time around here with renovations taking up our time and space, but they ended today, and we can begin to claim our new space.

My current state of mind.

Despite all of the kerfuffle these last several days here at home, I’ve still been able to find ten New Releases with which to dazzle both you and I. Also, I was taught a hard lesson about myself. But more on that later. Let’s get down to business.

A single comes this week from California’s Noise Rock duo Vantana Row. I’m still loving their full-length that was released back in September, particularly their irreverent cover of Dolly Parton’s Nine To Five. This week Fiver, with its b-side Not Enough David Thompson from Pacifica was released. Plucky Electronic Production alongside Ragecore (read: Screaming) vocals and heavy bass get the party started. Right?

Vantana Row – Fiver

A one-track single came out this week from London’s Brother May. He’s a singer, songwriter and MC. He’s been recording since 2019, and his latest cut is Gully Hymns. Minimalist Production keeps the focus on the bars spit and creates a comfortable groove.

Brother May – Gully Hymns

I have one more single this week, and this one comes via Nevada. Reno’s Rotary Club has released their first 7-inch. American Tower is gritty and in-yer-face Punk with Lydia Lunchesque vocals and the B-side, Planet 67 turns up the frenetic Pop meter.

Rotary Club – American Tower

My BandCamp Wishlist came through again this week, with two of the three listed making the cut. I highlighted The Drin on Tuesday, and I’m pleased to be able to add Today My Friend You Drunk The Venom to my listening life. The Cincinnati, Ohio sextet, led by Dylan McCartney, has released ten tracks of exploratory Rock, with wailing guitars and introspective lyrics , leaving plenty of room for Spaced-out Funky Trips.

The Drin – Today My Friend You Drunk The Venom

I’m happy to have found New Music that was written and created during the artist’s time while living in Vietnam. Just in time for Vietnamese New Year celebrations, Florida beatmaker and Producer Batsauce has released Dispatches From Da Nang. It is fifteen Downtempo Instrumental Hip-Hop adventures that were made without the luxury of samples. Perhaps best used in the Chillout Tent at your Tėt Party.

Batsauce – Dispatches From Da Nang

I found a peculiar project this week from Munich, Germany. Lö Mat is the name of what sounds to be the work of a young person with a pre-pubescent voice, with only drums and guitar to accompany. ProberaumUnterwelt is their third ep and it bubbles with lo-fi intensity and brilliant use of space.

Lö Mat – ProberaumUnterwelt

From the great and eccentric town of Athens, Georgia comes a great and eccentric solo project. A human who goes by the name SuL E. HoLmSs has released their first full-length album, as Rubber Udder. Mechanically Separated Chicken is eleven tracks, clocking in at just under an hour, of adventurous Rock-adjacent meanderings. By turns Psychedelic Freak Out and Amphetamine grandstanding, it’s a grand strand of mental floss.

Rubber Udder – Mechanically Separated Chicken

Czechia’s Korobushka Records (the great independent label that is home for Petr Válek’s recorded Music) has released an album from a band from Ostrava. München Konflikt’s third album, Muscle Pain, Panic Fever, is twelve tracks that remind me of The Sugarcubes at their most raw, minus the Björk, but with Karen O instead. Quirky instrumentation sets it apart.

München Konflikt – Muscle Pain, Panic Fever

London’s John Joseph Wardle has been known as Jah Wobble since the 1970’s. He first achieved worldwide acclaim as the Bass player for Public Image Limited alongside Johnny Lydon. He has been releasing solo projects since the 1980’s, and is still going strong. His latest album, The Bus Routes Of South London, was composed and created with the use of his iPad while riding the bus. Dub Reggae is the launchpad for Jah’s atmospheric instrumental musical musings. Feel the kozmik riddim.

Jah Wobble – Bus Routes Of South London

I discovered something else this week, besides all of this terrific New Music; I learned that I’m biased against L’il People. I just assumed that all musicians who calls themself L’il…Whatever probably makes shitty Hip-Hop, and has a lot of face tattoos. I was pleasantly proved wrong this week. From the State of Georgia, Lil Yachty has come to show me the way. How did I not see that this musician has released eight albums in the last seven years? Time to atone for my discrimination. Yachty’s new release, Let’s Start Here. is my Feature Pick for this week, and not just because of White Guilt. Instead of the Trap Music I expected to hear, the album is a lush R&B statement, with crispy clean production. No surprise that this artist, twenty five year-old Miles Park McCollum, is signed to the legendary Motown Records. And now I have a body of catalog to explore from this talented young musician. Hooray!

Lil Yachty – Let’s Start Here.

I want to thank Lil Yachty, and all the people, both big and lil, for helping me become a better person. Although something tells me that I’ll always be mid. Nevertheless, have a wonderful weekend and be good to yourself!

2 Comments

  1. I too somewhat shared your bias against artists named ‘Lil’, but like you, have to concede that Lil Yachty’s new album is wonderful. Thanks for opening my mind and ears too. On the other end of the spectrum, Vantana Row is a definite NO for me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment