The New Music I’m Listening To This Week, August 27 – September 2, 2022:

Good Friday to all! It’s been another wonderful week of great Music from all over the world, of many styles and temperaments. Allow me to guide you through the ten titles that are currently tickling my short and curlies.

My BandCamp Wishlist came through again this week. As I teased earlier this week, a trio of artists based in LA called Unloved have now released their debut release. The Pink Album is a double album. It consists of composer and producer Keefus Ciancia, vocalist Jade Vincent, and DJ David Holmes, plus a few guests, including Jarvis Cocker and Jon Spencer. It’s dreamy and dark, part Space-Pop, part Psychedelia, and all great.

Unloved – The Pink Album

In the great Collegiate city of Athens, Georgia there is a long-standing tradition of birthing audacious Rock bands. Following The B-52’s, R.E.M. Widespread Panic and others is The Humms. Active since 2008, they are essentially a solo project by Zeke Sayer with some helping hands, and have released their new album, “Pelzer Fuck Club.” Comparisons fail me. It’s odd and funny, with jangly guitars, electronic drums and exciting melodic choices.

The Humms – Pelzer Fuck Club

It brings me no end of pleasure when I discover some great New Music from a part of the world I haven’t heard from before. The Åland Islands are an archipelago comprised of nearly 7000 tiny islands, with only a population of nearly 30,000. They are in the Baltic Sea, between Sweden and Finland. This week I found an entirely anonymous artist that is called Tek lintowe. I don’t know if that’s a person’s name, or if it’s a band of domesticated wombats, but their new album, “My tek lintowe”, is a uniquely ambitious twenty-three tracks based in Electronic production. It contains shades of Dance Music, and Hip-Hop, fragmented and reconstructed. It’s Music for the kind of nuanced and intellectual gatherings I’m known for hosting The Illuminati, at My Imaginary Chalet.

Tek lintowe – My tek lintowe

Bristol, UK comes through again this week with another great release from yet another adventurous artist. No Vacancy is the recording name of an otherwise anonymous Electronic Producer. Their self-titled debut album is eleven tracks full of whimsy and wonder.

No Vacancy – s/t

You might have noticed that I don’t spend too much time with guitar-based music, because there is far too much samey-same out there. It has to be a pretty unique use of the guitar to get my attention. My attention has been acquired by an American guitar player and builder. Webb Crawford’s debut solo album, Joiners, is thirteen tracks of experimental playing, combined with the groans and squeaks of wood being joined together. It’s an audio feast unlike any I’ve heard before.

Webb Crawford – Joiners

To Belgium we go now, where a label called Kraak has released French Electronic artist Romain de Ferron’s latest album, “Ravi.” It is eight synthetic mini-symphonies which harken back to the early Moog pioneers. Swirling, droning sounds, encapsulated with pulsing loops and adventurous melodies.

Romain de Ferron – Ravi

Another great release this week from The Church Of Noisy Goat. Composer and Musician Jordi Heras Fauque hails from Spain, and is a renowned Artist and Producer. His four-song ep, “Swollen,” is a demonstration in dissonant beauty.

Jordi Heras Fauque – Swollen

This week I discovered an artist from Venezuela who has been described as, “The Hardest Working Man In The Tropical Music Business.” Alex Figueira is a DJ and percussionist that is now based in Amsterdam. His latest project is a soundtrack and short film, both with the title, “Maracas, tambourines and other hellish things.” All of the instruments and production on the nine tracks were performed and completed by just the artist. It’s a devilish mix that includes Latin Funk, Techno, and fuzz-tone Garage Rock. It’s a terrific collection of audio pastiches, turned on their heads in thrilling ways.

Alex Figueira –
Maracas, tambourines and other hellish things

In Chicago, there is a trio that calls themselves Bitchin Bajas. Active for over a decade, they released a very good album last year based on the work of Sun Ra. They have followed that up with a four-song full-length, Bajascillators. It’s meditative and wondrous.

Bitchin Bajas – Bajascillators

“Well, who’s the best rapper? That’s a hard debate. Priddy Ugly, that’s the topic, mate.” These are lyrics from Soweto-based Priddy Ugly’s great album from last year, Soil. His tone, rhythmic flow, and clever rhymes put him in the conversation, no doubt. And I’m happy that he’s come out with something new. Mud is seven tracks, and it’s my Feature Pick for this week. Downtempo production is the bed for Priddy’s warm and intelligent observations.

Priddy Ugly – Mud

I can only hope that I was able to guide you to something that touches your soul. That’s what music is all about, and if I’ve been a useful Sherpa, I can’t stop from smiling. I’ll talk to you again soon.

6 Comments

  1. In polar opposite to their name, I’m loving Unloved’s “The Pink Album”. Will work my way through your selections over the next few days.

    Like

    1. That’s great! 🥳

      Liked by 1 person

      1. And while I wouldn’t want to listen to them every day, ‘Pelzer Fuck Club’, ‘My tek lintowe’, ‘No Vacancy’ and ‘Joiners’ are all totally unique and utterly fascinating.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. The Humms album has quickly become one of my favourites of the year.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment