The New Music I’m Listening To Sanctimoniously This Week, March 30 – April 5, 2024:

How do you do? I do just fine, myself, thanks for asking. I hope you’re feeling all right, and you’re ready to absorb a whole mess of New Music.

I’ve found thirteen titles to introduce you to, so let’s not waste any more time with pleasantries!


UK group The Go! Team has a knack for catchy earworms filled with energy. They’ve released a new single, and We Won’t Be Defeated (CV Vision Remix) is a sample-heavy bop that will get your feet moving.

The Go! Team – We Just Won’t Be Defeated (CV Vision Remix)

A Punk group from Germany that I recommended back in January has already returned with a new single. Hailing from Schleswig, KLINT is a self-described “Egg Punk” band. Their new single, Somebody Cut Out My Brain, is an epic five-minute mosh with stops and starts and squishy distortion. The b-side, Anonymous, continues the band’s mission to blow your speakers.

KLINT – Somebody Cut Out My Brain

Something that caught my ear during the holiday weekend is a Punk band from Düsseldorf. OIRO is a stripped-down three-piece that features guitar, synth drums and vocals. They’ve been active for over fifteen years and their new album, Ratatatata is brimming with raw energy and angular beats.

OIRO – Ratatatata

London duo Bob Vylan is a Punk/Hip-Hop project with a conscious focus. Active since 2017, their influences are on full display on their new album, Humble As The Sun. Rage Against The Machine meets Gorillaz, without being derivative.

Bob Vylan – Humble As The Sun

A band from the North of England is tickling my fancy. Leeds-based Art-Rockers Drahla is a five-piece with driving guitars and punctuating saxophone. Their sophomore album, angeltape, is ear-grabbing and buoyant.

Drahla – angeltape

An Experimental Artist from France is bending my mind. I know nothing about Groupe Froid, but I’ve been won over by their album, Preuves De La Vie Avant La Mort. Glitchy beats and inspired production, incorporating tape loops and synths are brought together in service of intriguing French vocals.

Groupe Froid – Preuves De La Vie Avant La Mort

Chicago is the home of a lot of great Artists, of all kinds. I’m happy to have found an Alternative Hip-Hop Musician from the Windy City. Carlo Banez has released his debut album and Revenge of The Broken is a head nodder, incorporating R&B and Soul, Rap and Deep Bass. Banez is a talented vocalist with a confident flow.

Carlo Banez – Revenge of The Broken

A Record Label from Uganda is one of the most reliable in terms of vibrant and creative Dance Music. Nyege Nyege Tapes is back again with Durban-based dancefloor fillers Phelimuncasi. This time they have teamed up with Producer Metal Preyers to get you moving with Izingqinamba. Twisted beats, heavy bass and driving ear worms.

Phelimuncasi w/Metal Preyers – Izingqinamba

Another collaboration, this time from the other side of the planet. Los Angeles Electronic Producer Salami Rose Joe Louis (Lindsay Olsen) has teamed up with Flanifi (Simon Martinez) to create the groove-heavy sarah. House beats, Drum & Bass and more adventurous beats permeate the record, topped with disjointed vocals.

Salami Rose Joe Louis w/Flanifi – sarah

Another Artist from LA has new Music this week, though of a different stripe. Caleb Landry Jones is a Psychedelic/Prog Musician, and has released Hey Gary, Hey Dawn. Incorporating elements of Punk, New Wave, and Orchestral Rock, it’s one of the more ambitious releases you’ll find.

Caleb Landry Jones – Hey Gary, Hey Dawn

I have a trio of female musicians with terrific music released this week to end my findings. From Paris, I found an uplifting release by a wonderful vocalist and Producer. Bonnie Banane has been active for nearly fifteen years and her newest album, Nini, is smooth and lovely, with dark and ominous edges.

Bonnie Banane – Nini

Soul singer Alice Russell is continuing the tradition of talented British vocalists that bear their souls in their Music. If you enjoy Amy Winehouse, or even Adele, I implore you to check out Russell’s latest album, I Am. Lush production canvasses her throaty, emotional voice.

Alice Russell – I Am

My Feature Pick this week also comes from the UK. Liverpool’s Jane Weaver is an Experimental Singer-Songwriter with a whimsical voice. Her latest album, Love In Constant Spectacle, incorporates intriguing synths and charming countermelodies.

Jane Weaver – Love In Constant Spectacle

Hear me know and believe me later – I love all of you and I want you to be happy.

Take good care of yourself!

Leave a Comment