The New Music I’m Listening To At A Medium Pace This Week, December 2 – 8, 2023:

A hearty hello to all my friends! It’s lovely to be talking to you today, to recommend some quality New Music to improve your quality of life. It works, trust me!

Despite the odds, I’ve been able to find four titles to put before you this week. Take my hand, and let’s frolic together!


A single came out this week in advance for IDLES new album. The UK band’s TANGK is released on the 16th of February, but in anticipation they’ve dropped Grace. Produced by Uber-producer Niles Godrich, the track begins abruptly with drum and bass before building around the pure tones of vocalist Joe Talbot, who declares, “No god, no king. I said love is the thing.” Feels like a good Coldplay song with a universal plea, “Make me pure.”

IDLES – GRACE

This quiet week in Music began for me with an album that I don’t feel weird referring to as ‘Intelligent Electronic Music’. Not Dance Music per se, unless you can really vibe to polyrhythms on the dancefloor, but WangleLine’s Disaster Field is eight tracks that incorporate harsh beats with mellow synth tones. Not so much to bust a move, more to look within and experience yourself. Turn your eyes inside and dig the vacuum.

WrangleLine – Disaster Field

From my favourite Polish city with two z’s in its name is Szczecin’s own Alarm. They are a Power Trio that play aggressive Instrumental jams. Their debut, TŁUKĄ features funky bass and roaring guitar, with the drums providing the exploratory grooves that change time signature with thrilling regularity. It Rocks, with measured intensity.

Alarm – TŁUKĄ

My Feature Pick this week comes from Belo Horizonte, Brazil. Mariana Cavanellas is a new Artist who has just released her debut album. Dna is a refined combination of Brazilian Folk, Pop, Electronic Production and Cavanellas’ evocative voice. Her voice soars on highlights Ego and the opener Álcool, and the Production shines throughout, creating a warm atmosphere with plenty of experimentation.

Mariana Cavanellas – Dna

Wasn’t that a lovely jaunt? I hope I’ve shown you a good time. New Music Jason wants you to be comfortable as he does his thing.

Take care of yourself!

2 Comments

  1. “Grace” is probably the most restrained song I’ve heard from IDLES.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m very fond of the sentiment

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment