The New Music I’m Listening To In A Delayed Fashion This Week, July 29 – August 4, 2023:

Howdy fellas and gals, and everyone in-between! It has been a tiring few days for Yours Truly, as I put over 1600 kilometres on the vehicle. Most of those were spent with my 82 year-old father, travelling to visit his brother (my uncle) (I know you could have figured that out yourself). I feel like I’ve aged several years this week.

Maybe it was because I wasn’t experiencing New Music while I was away that makes me feel so old. I’ve been able to do my regular Friday exploration on Saturday, and did a deep-dive on my BandCamp feed. (Also, I completely whiffed on promoting, or even knowing that BandCamp Friday is back). I’ve been able to find five titles to scrape together for your Musical Dining pleasure.


Two singles out of the five begin the week’s findings. The first is from a California band I’ve recommended before. Witch Piss plays a Synth-heavy style of Pop-Punk known as ‘Egg Punk’. Egghead Punk maybe. They’ve released a two-track single to get you bopping. Grease Me Up/Grow Mold Die Old is Lo-Fi at its finest.

Witch Piss – Grease Me Up/Grow Mold Die Old

The next single is of the extended three-track sort. Izzy Bizu is an English-Ethiopian Singer/Songwriter of the funky R&B sort. Flower Power is the A-Side, and Izzy’s voice grabs you immediately, and the hooks do their thing.

Izzy Bizu – Flower Power

It occurs to me that as much as I like to think that I am learned* in all things Spiritual, everything that has helped my journey I learned from Lisa Simpson. In 2018, the composer Tan Dun debuted Buddha Passion, a Six-Act exploration to the heart of The Buddha. A Studio recorded performance has been released this week, and it features the Orchestre Nationale de Lyon, the Internationale Chorakademie, and soloists Shenyang, Zhu Huiling, Chuanyue Wang, and Sen Yuo. Just beautiful. Turn it up (because it was produced so quietly)!

Tan Dun – Buddha Passion

An Artist and that I’ve been admiring for these past few years has released a new album. Daedelus is an Electronic Producer from Rhode Island that is a Wizard of Sound. He is unafraid to jump from style to style with great skill. On Xenopocene, from the mighty Dome of Doom Label, is a wonderful display.

Daedelus – Xenopocene

Another Artist that I’ve been following these past two or three years has come back with another full-length album. I refer to Homeboy Sandman as my favourite rapper, and I stand by than assessment with his new album, Rich. Produced by Mono En Stereo, its eleven tracks of Sand showing off his wordplay prowess. What sets Sandman apart from other MCs is his ability to incorporate a sing-song style of flow that is actually vocally on point. No surprise it’s my Feature Pick for the week.

Homeboy Sandman – Rich

Ok friends, hope everyone is OK, and feeling good. I need a nap. Talk soon!

2 Comments

  1. I really like Izzy Bizu’s “Flower Power”, and the Daedelus album is marvelous!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment