Sinéad

I’m writing these words just minutes after hearing the news of the death of the great Sinéad O’Connor.

Peace To Heavenly Sinéad

One of my main rules, when I began to write about New Music was (and is) Don’t Fuck With Dead People. The rationale being, it always comes off as a shameless call to attention about yourself. It’s not about the deceased.

Also, dead people can’t make New Music.

There’s nothing new I can say about Sinéad O’Connor that I haven’t already written, when I lauded her as one of my New Music Heroes.

Her voice was beyond compare. Her heart was too pure to contend with the world. She suffered a lot of pain in her life, and didn’t seem to have the tools to survive.

I can’t say that I’m surprised that she only made it to 56. I’ve been worried about her, in the back of my mind, since I became aware of her when she was only twenty-one.

She remains a hero to me for her fierce bravery that masked a sensitive and troubled soul. May her soul be at rest.

Sinéad O’Connor – Feel So Different

4 Comments

  1. I’m deeply saddened, and like you, not entirely shocked.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So sad 💔🥀💔

    Like

    1. It is such a sad end to a tragic life.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know… and I’m so sorry 💙

        Like

Leave a Comment