The New Music I’m Listening To In Sensible Portions This Week, November 5 – 11, 2022:

Since my embrace of BandCamp this past couple of years, my musical intake has erupted to such a great amount that I sometimes find it difficult to keep up. But then I remember that I will never be able to hear everything that’s available to everyone with a wifi connection. There is more Music released than there is time to listen to it. It is an embarrassment of riches.

Just like my man Slick Rick.
Ask your grandparents.
Photo Credit: Janette Beckman

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve had less than ten New Releases to recommended in a given week. The eight that I’ve discovered that suit my tastes span both the globe and the imagination, so let’s get right down to it.

A five-track ep by a band from Nashville was first out of the gate this week. Snooper was started around the beginning of the pandemic by Connor Cummins, and audio/visual artist Blair Tramel. They’ve released a series of eps, and their latest, Town Topic, is frenetic and charmingly quirky. The angular attack of Devo with Electronic weirdness is a fun addition to my life, and I yearn to see them live.

Snooper – Town Topic

Score is the musical alias for Electronic Producer Chris Tate, from England. His latest album Now Here is a leisurely journey in sound, with no thought to genre. It is atmospheric, droning, and soothing. Currently in heavy rotation in the Chill-Out Room at My Imaginary Nightclub.

Score – Now Here

Another great release from Brazil’s Experimental Label The Church Of Noisy Goat has entered my life. It’s a collaboration between Austrian Electronic duo Afghanistan Mon Amour and DC poet and MC, Black Saturn, that has been remixed by Las Vegas DJ, Gzilla. Afghanistan Mon Amour Black Saturn Collab & Gzilla Remix is two tracks with dreamlike, entrancing Production, and Saturn’s clever rhymes.

Afghanistan Mon Amour & Black Saturn – Afghanistan Mon Amour Black Saturn Collab & Gzilla Remix

Back at the end of November in 2021, I discovered an underground Punk Band from Hong Kong called The Offset: Spectacles. The only problem was that their lone album was released in 2011. Not exactly New Music, but I justified adding it to my New Music Playlist because it was new to me, and it was so fresh and exciting.

I mention this because I’ve discovered an eccentric artist from Japan that has really blown me away. Syoichi Miyazawa is a singer/songwriter who came to Tokyo in 1978 to go to University, and formed The Rabbits in 1982. They released a string of cassettes and played to puzzled audiences in Japan for two years, then disappeared. A new self-titled full-length compiles ten of their (presumably) best tracks. It sounds like a jarring combination of Syd Barrett and John Lydon fronting a Post-Punk Beatles Freakout. Hell yeah, it’s New Music. It was just locked in a time capsule for forty years.

The Rabbits – s/t

Real World Records is a label that was created by Peter Gabriel back in The 1980’s, and was an influential reason that World Music became globally recognized. They continue to release groundbreaking music this week with US-born, Indian-raised percussionist and composer Sarathy Korwar’s KALAK. The eleven-track Full Length is steeped in South Asian Culture and Instrumentation, with gorgeous club-ready production from Photay. Tamar Osborn features on flute and saxophone.

Sarathy Korwar – KALAK

A band from Tucson, Arizona that has been active for over ten years has finally caught my attention. Lenguas Largas has a unique take on Punk. On their new album “Is This Still Laughing Hyenas?” incorporates synths and guitar stabs with psychedelic mindfucks. Technically speaking.

Lenguas Largas – “Is This Still Laughing Hyena?”

It pleases me to no end to add New a music to my life from Brooklyn MC Homeboy Sandman. Sand has been busy, with an ep that was produced by Aesop Rock just over a year ago, and another ep produced by Illingsworth back in February. A Full-Length release of leftover tracks from sessions that were doomed for one reason or another, I Can’t Sell These, was also released back in June. He’s just put out a new LP, and he’s chosen a terrific producer, Deca, to turn the knobs. I recommended Deca’s album back in May and he’s providing the heat for Still Champion. Sandman’s style of flow borders with scat singing, with its rhythm-play and tonal contrast. If I had to name one MC in the game today…

Homeboy Sandman – Still Champion

This past Tuesday I highlighted a New Release pulled from my BandCamp Wishlist that I was unsure of. The Cool Greenhouse began as the solo project of London’s Tom Greenhouse, and has since evolved into a living, breathing band. Greenhouse started recording in 2018 and soon caught the attention of cool Baby Boomer Henry Rollins. The second full-length release, Sod’s Toastie, is the first to incorporate the full band and the first to land on my ears. Greenhouse’s vocal delivery is mostly plain-spoken, spinning sublime tales of ordinary madness. The band is creative and free, with a quirky Pop aesthetic. Did I mention that it is my Feature Pick for this week?

The Cool Greenhouse – Sod’s Toastie

I hope you’re enjoying what you’re listening to. Remember to pace yourself, and drink lots of fluids. You need to take care of yourself. I care about you. Have a great weekend!

4 Comments

  1. Yes, the amount of new music released each week is absolutely staggering, and there’s no possible way to find the time to listen to more than a fraction of it. But kudos to you for trying your best!

    Like

  2. Gary Nyhc says:

    until 20 minutes ago I hated Music Store managers – sorted. Thanks.
    Lightning bolt, lightning bolt….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment