The New Music I’m Listening To This Lovely Week, April 2-8, 2022:

Spring comes quick around here. Unfortunately it also ends just as quickly as it’s begun, so now is the time to soak all of it in. As for me, I aim to sit in my happy place, revelling in the Fresh Air™️, the sun warming my skin. And listening, of course, to what The Music has on offer.

As predicted, it has been a healthy crop of new sounds this week. I’ve been able to find eight titles to add to my life. Step inside, walk this way. You and me, babe. Hey! Hey!

Before I start, I’m NOT going to mention every time the Radiohead side-project The Smile releases a new single. Same with Thom Yorke. Let’s talk when there’s a full-length to talk about. I don’t care if they need the money. Gauntlet thrown!


The week starts in Macedonia (a first for me). A Jazz quartet called Taxi Consilium, led by guitarist Filip Bukrshliev, has released a new album, “Spiritual Car Wash”. It prominently features Bass Clarinetist Blagojche Tomevski on its six tracks, and it has a spirit of exploration. Also, big fan of the album art.

Taxi Consilium – Spiritual Car Wash

The remaining 50% of a full-length album that had yet to have been released, was released on Friday. I say this, because Wet Leg’s self-titled album is already a huge success, and has seen SIX of its twelve songs released as singles, from as early as June of last year. I’m happy I didn’t add “Chaise Longue” right out of the gate, to my New Music playlist, because it would have stayed there for nearly two years (which I consider to be a right and reward for outstanding singles). As it is, “Oh No” (released at the beginning of February), is joined by eleven equally high quality songs, featuring wry wit with a healthy dose of Rock. At its poppiest, the Isle Of Wight duo remind me of “Parklife”-era Blur. Nothing wrong with that.

Wet Leg – s/t

I have an appreciation for artists that have been inspired by The Beatles. It shows they have good taste. I’d like to believe that British percussionist Valentina Mageletti and Italian bassist Pino Montecalvo are two such artists. However, instead of “I Want To Hold Your Hand”, or perhaps even “Strawberry Fields Forever”, as inspiration, the duo, who perform together as Avvitagalli, may have chosen “Revolution 9” as their bedrock. Their debut album, “None Corsa”, is approximately what I hope to hear when something is described as, “Free Jazz”. Samples loop in and out as our heroes play loose. Side One is nine short pieces, while Side Two is a 15-minute epic, “The Last Shiny Bones of the Duno Ghost”. It’s a trip!

Avvitagalli – None Corsa

If Avvitagalli was inspired by The Beatles, my next recommendation may have been inspired by Syd Barrett-era Pink Floyd, mixed with Electronic Punk. 106 is the artist name for a duo from Tokyo. Phew was the leader of 70’s punk bank Aunt Sally, and she now works with synthesizers, along with her voice. I can’t find any information about Dowser N, but they take care of the guitar and bass, as well as virtual instruments. Their release, “106 DTP01”, is eight tracks of bold, experimental sounds, and is self-described as “desktop punk”. Perfect.

106 – 106 DTP01

As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve had very good luck finding excellent New Music from Brazil (and also that sneaky Spain, who likes to fool me into confusing it with Brazil). Continuing that trend is a new single from Iara Rennó & Thalma Freitas. “Babá Ori” is fantastic electronic production, in accompaniment to two beautiful Portuguese voices. Not Spanish.

Iara Rennó & Thalma Freitas –
Babá Ori

A New York rapper with an interesting history has released his new album this week. Billy Woods was born in DC, then was moved to Zimbabwe, where his father was active in its liberation. After his father died, his Jamaican mother moved them back to the US. After starting to rap in NYC in the late 90’s, he found success with Elucid as the duo Armand Hammer. His album, “Aethiopes”, features Elucid, as well as Quelle Chris, El-P, and others, and is co-produced by Yasiin Bey, who is better known as Mos Def. Smart, thought-provoking rhymes, with stabs of Jazz and downtempo Hip Hop.

Billy Woods – Aethiopes

Mitch Stahlmann is a musician from Oakland, CA, who works with flute, clarinet, and electronics. His debut album, “Into The Wish”, aims to bend your perception regarding what is capable with Classical instruments. Moody dreamscapes bump up against lighthearted experimentation.

Mitch Stahlmann – Into The Wish

When the invasion of Kyiv began by russian forces on the 24th of February, Ukraine citizen Stas Teterevlev recorded the stunning and gut-dropping audio of the first moments. He then sent the file to some of his favourite Electronic musicians, asking if they would use it in their work. The result is “Siren Songs: Solidarity With Ukraine”. Seventeen artists have taken the raw audio of the mournful sirens, followed by explosions, and turned it into seventeen unique messages from the heart. Proceeds from sales go to SunflowerOfPeace.com.

Various Artists – Siren Song: Solidarity With Ukraine

I’ll end my recommendations this week with some words of support to my friend Ian Lamont. He’s currently going through some stuff, and I just want him to know that I’m thinking about him.

Ian Lamont – Peg

Have a wonderful weekend, I’ll talk to you on Tuesday. Take care of yourself.